Warning! Javascript is disabled. Please enable javascript for a completly functioning application.

Jul 28, 2018

Simplifies the negative list for foreign investment

On 28 July 2018, the 2018 Edition of Special Administrative Measures for Foreign Investment Access (also known as the negative list on foreign investment access) entered into force. The number of items subject to special administrative measures on the new negative list was cut from 63 to 48, further reducing the scope of the need for foreign investment approval. Foreign ownership restrictions were removed or relaxed in certain industries, including finance, transportation, professional services, infrastructure, energy, and agriculture. The new list also detailed a timetable for opening-up the automobile and finance sectors.

The new negative list was released on 28 June 2018 by the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM).

Type: Entry and establishment (Ownership and control)

Industry: Not industry specific