Warning! Javascript is disabled. Please enable javascript for a completly functioning application.

Hub News Article Jun 19, 2015

The Eurasian Economic Union Concluded its First FTA

On 29 May 2015, the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) signed a free trade agreement with Viet Nam. This is the first agreement of this kind concluded by the EEU, a regional integration organisation consisting of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and the Russian Federation.

The agreement’s chapter on trade in services and investment applies between the Russian Federation and Viet Nam only. It includes commitments on establishment of enterprises and market access in services and non-services sectors (subject to reservations on a negative-list basis), prohibition of certain performance requirements, other traditional IIA provisions and the investor-State dispute settlement mechanism.

The text of the agreement in English is available here.